Skip to content

The divisional round of the playoffs certainly decided a few stories about who the best teams in the NFL were. After all, the league has its top four teams playing on conference championship weekend.

The Philadelphia Eagles got a win over the New York Giants, showing that they are still one of the best teams in the league and the Super Bowl contender they have been all season. Philadelphia will host the NFC Championship Game against the San Francisco 49ers, who won a showdown against the Dallas Cowboys to set up the conference with a matchup of its top two seeds.

The AFC Championship Game features a highly anticipated rematch between the Kansas City Chiefs and Cincinnati Bengals in what is sure to be one of the best games of the season. Patrick Mahomes threw an ankle high to lead the Chiefs past the Jacksonville Jaguars, while Joe Burrow led the Bengals to a dominant win over the Buffalo Bills in snowy Buffalo.

Conference Championship Weekend is all about the timer. Here’s an early primer for next week.

All odds courtesy of Caesars Sportsbook

NFC Championship Game

(2) San Francisco 49ers at (1) Philadelphia Eagles

When? Sunday, January 29th at 3pm ET
Television. Fox |: Flow, fuboTV:
Line: Eagles -2.5, O/U 46

Recommended game |: Philadelphia Eagles vs. San Francisco 49ers

The 49ers and Eagles don’t have a rich playoff history, with Philadelphia and San Francisco meeting just once in the postseason (the 49ers went 14-0 in the 1996 NFC Wild Card). Jalen Hurts and Brock Purdy, both starting quarterbacks, weren’t even born yet. Hurts (24 years, 175 days) vs. Purdy (23 years, 33 days) will be the youngest tight end in NFC Championship Game history.

Purdy is the fourth quarterback drafted in the sixth round or later (or undrafted) to reach a conference championship in his first season as a starter. The 49ers are playing in their 18th conference championship game, the most in NFL history (and third in the last four years). They are the only NFC team that has never played in Philadelphia in a playoff game on the road.

Hurts is the youngest quarterback in Eagles history to reach the conference championship game, surpassing Donovan McNabb’s record from 2001. This is the Eagles’ seventh conference championship since 2000, the most in the NFC and behind only the New England Patriots. In the NFL. The Eagles are looking for their fourth Super Bowl appearance in franchise history and second in the last six seasons.

The Eagles finished with the top rushing offense in the NFC in points and yards per game. The 49ers finished as the top defense in the NFC in points and yards per game. This game is sure to ignite the age-old offense vs. defense debate, setting the stage for a thriller in Philadelphia.

AFC Championship Game

(4) Cincinnati Bengals at (1) Kansas City Chiefs

When? Sunday, January 29th at 6:30pm ET
Television. CBS | Flow, Paramount+
Line: Bengals -2, O/U 46.5

Recommended game |: Kansas City Chiefs vs. Cincinnati Bengals

A rematch of last year’s AFC title game against the Chiefs and Bengals is already worth buzzing about. Add Patrick Mahomes and Joe Burrows to the mix and NFL fans could be in for another classic, especially with Mahomes playing through a high ankle sprain.

Mahomes has never beaten the Bengals since Burrow became the starting quarterback, going 0-3 against him in the last two seasons, including last year’s AFC Championship Game in which Kansas City blew a 21-10 lead in the second quarter and lost 27-24. overtime. Each of those games has been decided by exactly three points, with Cincinnati outscoring Kansas City 26-6 in the fourth quarter and overtime in those games.

Mahomes will join Tom Brady (eight straight) and Ken Stabler (five straight) as the only quarterbacks to start five straight conference championship games as the Chiefs become the first team in NFL history to win five straight at home in a conference championship game games: He is also the only quarterback to lead a team to five conference championship games before turning 30 years old. The Chiefs are looking to become just the ninth team to reach the Super Bowl three times in four years.

The Bengals are seeking back-to-back Super Bowl seasons in an attempt to become the first team since the seeding began in 1975 to reach back-to-back Super Bowls without having the top two seeds in both seasons. Joe Burrow can join Russell Wilson as the only quarterbacks to start two Super Bowls in their first three seasons. Burrow is 5-1 in his playoff career and 3-0 on the road (the Bengals never won a postseason road game before Burrow). Cincinnati has never lost an AFC Championship game, going 3-0 in franchise history.

Mahomes vs. The Burrow IV should be a classic no matter how the Chiefs quarterback plays with his high ankle sprain.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *