Skip to content

The World Cup trophy isn’t the only prize on offer when Argentina and France meet in Qatar on Sunday.

World Cup winners also receive one of the most generous payouts on offer in football.

The 2022 tournament will offer a record prize pool and all 32 nations that have played in Qatar will receive payments from FIFA.

Here’s what you need to know about the prize money for the 2022 World Cup and how it has changed over the years.

What is the prize money for the World Cup?

When looking at the prize money for the World Cup, it should be noted that the total pot is divided among each of the 32 competing teams.

These amounts are distributed depending on the results and progress of the tournament; even the teams that are eliminated from the group stage will get a share.

FIFA has set the prize pool for the 2022 World Cup at $44 million. That’s the most ever allocated to a World Cup.

How much prize money is given to the winners of the World Cup?

In many global sports tournaments, the winner gets the lion’s share of the overall prize pool. But that’s not the case with the World Cup.

In fact, the winners won’t even go home with 10 percent of the $440 million.

The champions, who will be crowned on Sunday, December 18, will receive $42 million, $4 million more than France was awarded for winning the 2018 World Cup.

France received $38 million to win the 2018 World Cup (Photo: Matthias Hangst/Getty Images)

That means there’s still another $404 million to split among the other 31 competing teams.

How is the World Cup prize money distributed?

The runners-up will receive $30 million.

A third-place playoff for a losing semi-finalist is often seen as a pretty meaningless game, but those in charge will realize it’s worth an extra $2 million this year. The third-place team will be awarded $27 million, while there is a $25 million prize for fourth place.

The four losing quarterfinalists will all receive $17 million, while $13 million will go to the eight teams that lost in the Round of 16.

The other 16 nations that failed to make it out of the World Cup group stage receive $9 million, regardless of how many points they collect in their three games.

It is up to each nation to decide how much of that money to distribute to players and staff. This is usually decided before the tournament, with goals set for wins at each round of the World Cup.

In 2018, the president of the French Football Federation (FFF) Noel Le Gray announced that the players would receive 30 percent of the prize money.

France received $38 million for beating Croatia in the final, meaning each player will receive more than $350,000 for a win in Russia.

How does the prize money for the 2022 World Cup compare to previous tournaments?

The 1982 World Cup, held in Spain, was the first iteration to include prize money.

As you might expect, the total amount of money awarded to teams participating in the tournament has changed significantly in the past 40 years, with the winners receiving a relatively paltry $2.2 million four decades ago.

Italy were the first World Cup winners to pocket some prize money in 1982 (Photo: Allsport/Getty Images/Hulton Archive)

That increased with each tournament, with significant increases between 2002 and 2006, to a point where this year’s winner will receive $42 million from FIFA.

Here’s how each winning team has been awarded over the past 40 years.

Prize money for World Cup winners

  • 1982 World Cup |: Winners: Italy: $2.2 million
  • 1986 World Cup |: Winners: Argentina – $2.8 million
  • 1990 World Cup |: Winners: West Germany: $3.5 million
  • 1994 World Cup |: Winners: Brazil – $4 million
  • 1998 World Cup |: Winners: France – $6 million
  • 2002 World Cup |: Winners: Brazil – $8 million
  • 2006 World Cup |: Winners: Italy – $20 million
  • 2010 World Cup |: Winners: Spain – $30 million
  • 2014 of the world |: Winners: Germany: $35 million
  • 2018 of the world |: Winners: France: $38 million
  • 2022 World Cup |: Winners: TBC – $42 million

Meanwhile, here’s how the overall World Cup prize pool has looked over the last 20 years (since data is only available from 2002 onwards).

Total prize money for the World Cup

  • 2002 World Cup |: Hosts: Japan and South Korea: $134 million
  • 2006 World Cup |: Hosts: Germany – $236 million
  • 2010 World Cup |: Hosts: South Africa – $348 million
  • 2014 World Cup |: Hosts: Brazil – $358 million
  • 2018 of the world |: Hosts: Russia – 400 million dollars
  • 2022 World Cup |: Hosts: Qatar – $440 million

How does the World Cup’s prize money compare to other major sports tournaments?

Prize money varies from tournament to tournament and country to country.

In the World Cup, the winning team is given the prize money and then they decide how it is divided between the players and the staff. Whereas in the US, for example, in the Super Bowl, the prize money is calculated by how much money each winning player will receive.

Each member of the Los Angeles Rams team that won Super Bowl LVI in February was given $150,000.

Players for the Houston Astros, who won the World Series last month, each received an additional $440,000.

Members of the NBA’s winningest Milwaukee Bucks team received a prize between the two, $270,000 each.

Football remains the most profitable sport worldwide. Real Madrid collected more than $83 million in prize money after winning the Champions League in May.

The multi-billion pounds available in the Premier League continues to set the bar for sporting prize money. This season’s winners will earn $200 million, while even the relegated teams will collect more than $120 million.

(Top photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *