Skip to content

HOUSTON – The Kansas City Chiefs, a franchise that never won more than back-to-back division titles in its first 55 years of existence, won their seventh straight AFC West championship on Sunday with a 30-24 overtime victory over the Houston Texans. .

The Texans (1-12-1) made things interesting for the Chiefs (11-3). Houston led 14-13 at halftime, and Kansas City didn’t score its first until nine minutes remained in the third quarter.

But on his second drive, after a fumble by Texans quarterback Davis Mills, Chiefs running back Jerick McKinnon rushed 26 yards for the game-winning touchdown.

The seven consecutive division titles are tied with the Los Angeles Rams (1973-79) for the second-longest streak in NFL history. The New England Patriots won the AFC East title 11 consecutive seasons from 2009 to 2019.

Kansas City also has the longest active division title streak in the NFL, NBA, MLB and NHL, according to the Elias Sports Bureau.

The Chiefs are chasing the Buffalo Bills (11-3) for the AFC’s No. 1 playoff seed. The top seed gets the conference’s only first-round bye and home field until the Super Bowl. The Chiefs haven’t played a road playoff game since Patrick Mahomes became their starting quarterback in 2018.

The Bills hold the tiebreaker over the Chiefs thanks to a 24-20 win in Kansas City in Week 6.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *